Tantra speed dating (the uncut version!)

Aurelie B.
15 min readJul 10, 2023

Not your regular 7 minutes elevator pitch before the bell…

“Tantra speed date®- Toronto”… Tantra speed date??… As in tantric sex? The slow mindfulness practice of love-making… with random strangers… on tables, switching from one another every 7 minutes? Whaaat? WTF is this event?

I see the event promotional notification pop up on my phone screen. I try to make sense of these three words joined together.

Photo by Ahtziri Lagarde on Unsplash

I’ve done speed dating before. Twenty or so tables for two lined up in a room. Women sat at their table the whole night. Men picked a first table to sit at, then move one forward every time a bell would ring. We all had a number, if at the end of the night we were okay to get in contact with each other we would tick a box on a little piece of paper. I remember ending up with a dry mouth from all the talking and ultimately no boyfriend.

Tantra, on the other hand, I have never done. The topic has appeared in a few books I read (in literature related to personal development, not in erotica novels… just to clarify!) but it never really appealed to me to try it in real life. I’m not the patient type.

Still, I kept staring at this two-lined advertisement on my phone… And 5 minutes later, without even reading too many details about the program, I registered myself and a friend to…

--

--

Aurelie B.

Me? 30 something French woman living in Toronto. Positive, witty & a dash sarcastic. You? Open-minded reader ready to follow me on my adventures through Medium.