I Blame Medium For Making Me Feel Like a Failure!

35K views on an article made me feel hot and wanted… before, I got moldy!

Aurelie B.
4 min readMar 2, 2024

In January, I was among the top 29% of writers on Medium — an exclusive club that one joins when one of their articles generates over $100 in revenue.

How did the dream come true for me? I wrote an article entitled ‘My date dared me. I took it and I licked it’. The Medium fairies boosted it and I earned over $400 for it.

I got 456 dollars, and 27 thousands read for my story ‘my date dared me’
Statistics for my most popular story to date

I felt hotter than AI-generated images. I was the newest thing people were talking about… Well, at least the 30 who commented on my one-and-only article that got visibility. Still, 35K views accumulated in a matter of 3 weeks. I was proud!

That deserved a little desk dance. English isn’t my native language, so getting recognized for my fluency in North American puns was a big win. Also, I just started writing for Medium regularly in December, so it was encouraging to have my baby steps glorified.

My audience was growing at the rate of 5 to 10 people a day. Every morning, I would wake up with the notification that a random new person had clapped for my article. My Medium was more alive than my Hinge, and that felt awesome. For once, strangers loved me for my spirits rather than my boobs.

--

--

Aurelie B.

Me? 30 something French woman living in Toronto. Positive, witty & a dash sarcastic. You? Open-minded reader ready to follow me on my adventures through Medium.